Musical Critiques

As a brief and seemingly mandatory procedure, I will mention that this is, in fact, an opinionated article (more or less). Here, I will begin to form a “well articulated” analysis of a few genres of music which contain and are most definitely limited to: Metal (Death, Black, and Nu), alternative rock (Grunge, Post-Grunge, and Punk), Pop, and Hip-Hop. (and maybe country, if I find it necessary or safe) {oh, and acoustic}. This is very brief, in actuality, and does not go nearly in depth enough for what music is and the attention that it actually deserves. (After finshing, I’ve realized this is anything but brief *looks at word count*)

Now, my bias lies in the fact that I’m, with no shame, a metal head. That, however, does not mean that I worship Satan or sacrifice babies to the mighty God Ra. In fact, I do enjoy quite a few acoustic bands, along with punk, and other, non-related subjects of music. With that said, we shall continue with the article.

I’ll go in the listed order, starting with Metal, and its sub-genres. Metal was originally created around the 60’s, being dubbed “Heavy Metal” around the era, given how the bands like Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath were being compared to mostly folk and christian rock. In retrospect, this music isn’t really all that heavy and doesn’t necessarily deserve that title. This is the type of music that seldom disappoints and offers an escape from the nonsense of the day. Moving on, we have death metal which is often times shunned by the media. This is because people find the music to be disturbing and, well, just off putting. Personally, I disagree, as I view music as an outlet for all emotions, even if its simply venting and letting out some volatile emotions and ideas. Then we move to black metal, the genre that we all know but not many appreciate or love. This is quite understandable, given the history of many black metal fans, what with the reported cases of murder and arson on churches. Lastly, I mention Nu metal, my personal favorite genre of music, containing bands like Slipknot, Korn, King 810, among many others.This is the more comprehensible form of death metal, with the same amount of anger being expressed in a more serene matter. I’d also like to add industrial metal, which contains some very talented and crazy individuals, like Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails (a single man band) and Till Lindemann of Rammstein, a German band. This genre of metal mixes electronic music and metal.

Alternative rock, a very important and meaningful genre of music that I hold very near and dear to my heart. This is the music that helped me get through so very tough times, that I will not go in depth about. So, grunge is a musical movement that formed in Seattle and gained much momentum throughout the nation, what with it heavy nihilistic undertones and the deep emotion that the music carried. This helped many people to find it relatable, giving it the momentum it earned. So band that were featured here were Alice in Chains, Soundgarden, Audioslave, Oasis, A Perfect Circle, Puscifer, Sponge, Pearl Jam, and Nirvana. Many of the songs in this genre featured lyrics relating to heavy drug reliance that many of the band members were stricken with, taking so many lives. Grunge still exists today in Post-Grunge bands and features many stylistic similarities to Grunge but has achieved more mainstream success. A few bands in this category are Candlebox, Puddle of Mudd, Staind, Nickleback (eww), and, my personal favorite, Seether. Now we go to the most rebellious of the rebellious bands. Punk bands. In more recent years, I’ve grown a fondness for punk rock bands, such as Green Day, AFI-my favorite of the punk band- The Offspring, and The Ramones, are just a few. These bands typically use fast-paced songs, with a rebellious tone, normally persisting against a pop culture movement or some sort of establishment. My liking towards this most likely has formed from my outright hatred of pretty all music that is featured in pop culture (All modern”hip-hop”, pop music like Taylor Swift and Ariana Grande, among others).

I know that this is out of order, but I’d like to save my negativity for later in the article, so here we talk about acoustic music. Acoustic music has always appealed to me. Never as a huge attraction, but, simply as an appealing type of music. One of my favorite bands, Cold, is almost solely an acoustic band. Not to mention the many acoustic songs released by some of the heavy bands I listen which, often times, end up being some of my favorite songs from a band, like Vermilion Pt. 2 from Slipknot. I know this is an awfully short paragraph but I felt that acoustic music deserved a shout-out of some sort.

Now we move on to my most hated music genre and that is pop music, which I mentioned earlier. Now, pop music is called what it is called because it is popular (go figure). My main issues with pop music is that I’ve never actually felt anything from it. I feel as if the music lacks any real purpose or feeling. In my opinion, that is one of the most important things in music, invoking emotion. When someone is singing, they should feel it and that emotion should be channeled through the music, into the listener and not just a surface emotion or joy or something, but a deep, long-forgotten, sovereign emotion that cannot be escaped. This is what I believe the music lacks. Substance. Feeling. People in this genre seem to just throw words on paper, slap some auto tune on their songs and call it a day. This leads me to another point, which is the exploitative nature of these artists and, also, the rather pretentious promises. When so little is thrown into music, it becomes easy to crank out song after song, album after album ( I guess I’ll be throwing Hip-hop into this paragraph, too). People will continually by these albums because the have this false sense of attachment to the artist and their music. For instance, the band One Direction, those people never actually knew each other. They were formed by a corporation for the express purpose of money-making (not the people, the “band”; lizard, test tube babies not allowed). Hip-hop, too, had degraded to this level. In the past, hardcore rappers like DMX, NWA, Cypress Hill, and many others would go out and throw their life stories, their history, and all their problems onto tracks. This music was relatable to many poor, damaged individuals. However, this music has turned into a mockery of its former self. It’s become music for rich kids to listen to because, well, honestly, I have no clue. Maybe they think they’re cool, listening to music for people who, supposedly, are hardened criminals, injecting all the illegal weed drugs and sniffing the heroins. Again, this music now features such a heavy auto tune element that it’s become incomprehensible. I honestly don’t believe they say words anymore. It’s just mindless gibberish, kinda like babies.

I hope you have a terrific day, you noodlers. :* (please, be gentle with me, I’m fragile)

 

Musical Critiques

Leave a Reply

